21.7 C
Sierra Leone
Monday, February 6, 2023

7 Nominees Get Parliamentary Nod

HomeAYV News7 Nominees Get Parliamentary Nod

7 Nominees Get Parliamentary Nod


Related stories

Retail Fuel Pump Prices Adjusted to NLe21.5

Following the recent upsurge in the global prices of...

This is a golden era for women, girls in Sierra Leone …President Bio tells school going pupils in Bo city

By Joseph S. Margai, Strategic Communication Coordinator President Julius Maada...

Sierra Leone Nursing, Midwifery Council Act Passed in Parliament

The Parliament of Sierra Leone has debated intensively and...


Congratulating the nominees on behalf of Parliament, the Presiding Speaker of the House, Hon. Segepoh Solomon Thomas recalled the approval of nominees over the years and called on the current nominees to make a huge difference in respect of their various appointments by fulfilling their promises aimed at the actualization of the New Direction.

The following presidential nominees were approved by Parliament:

       I.            Mr. Tennyson M. Rogers-Member, Board of Directors, SLRA

    II.            Mr. Amadu Dumbuya-Member, Board of Directors, EDSA

 III.            Ms. Hawanatu Alarie Ibrahim-Member, Board of Directors, SLRA

 IV.            Mr. Mohamed Alie Swarray-Member, Board of Directors, SLRA

    V.            Mr. Thomas Ninian Anthony Legg-Member, Board of Directors, NPPA

 VI.            Mr. Daniel Moijueh-Member, Board of Directors, NPPA and

VII.            Mr. Abdulai Maxin Conjoh-Member, Board of Directors, NPPA

Seconding the motion, Hon. Emilia L. Tongi, an Independent MP from Kailahun praised President Bio for nominating persons she described as “fantastically” competent for the various offices they have been nominated to serve; adding that the country is moving towards “the best direction”.

Hon. Daniel B. Koroma of APC also said that “the nominees are qualified” and commended the Leader of Government Business, Hon. Tunis for making the Order Paper available to MPs on time. He called on SLRA to do the road just after Old School and to also complete the Lumley-Tokeh Road, having regard for the efforts that had been made by former Presidents Kabbah and Koroma, respectively.

Hon. Sahr Charles of C4C also commended President Bio for nominating qualified persons to serve in high offices of State and spoke on the need of effective and efficient service delivery by those institutions in the country. He called on EDSA to brace up to meet the expectation of meter supply in Kono, where the current supply of meter is far below the quantity demanded.

Hon. Abdul T. Kamara of NGC commended President Bio for nominating qualified persons whom he referred to as being “workaholic”; whilst calling on them to respect and attend to the concerns of MPs after approval.

Rounding the debate, the Acting Leader of the Opposition, Hon. Ibrahim Ben Kargbo observed that today’s deliberations in the House are marked by tranquility, cohesiveness and a sense of unity. Assuring of cooperation with the SLPP, he noted “this is more the reason why the APC is now heaping praises on the nominees of the President”. Speaking on the importance of the various institutions responsible for procurement, energy and road construction, he particularly appealed to SLRA to connect the rural communities to the urban areas especially for ease of movement and transportation of agricultural commodities.

Concluding the debate, the Leader of Government Business, Hon. Sidie M. Tunis praised the MPs for their contributions to the debate and called on the nominees to always come to Parliament for support as and when necessary.

Business News


- Never miss a story with notifications

- Gain full access to our premium content

- Browse free from up to 5 devices at once