23 C
Sierra Leone
Sunday, January 29, 2023

Deputy Speaker Thrills Pan-African Parliament

HomeAYV NewsDeputy Speaker Thrills Pan-African Parliament

Deputy Speaker Thrills Pan-African Parliament


Related stories

ReNIP to Hold Lower-Level Elections This Weekend

The Republic National Independent Party (ReNIP), will tomorrow 28th...

Multi-Purpose Biometric Identity Cards Set to be Launched

His Excellency President Dr Julius Maada Bio will officially...

Health Ministry Engages AYV Staff on the Need for COVID Vaccination

The Health Education Division at the Ministry of Health...

Parliament Votes Against Annulment of Public Elections Rules

Following a motion brought by the Leader of the...


The Sierra Leone delegation was led by Hon. Sengepoh Solomon Thomas (Deputy Speaker). Others on the delegation were Hon. Bashiru Silikie of the Sierra Leone Peoples Party (SLPP); Hon. Rosemarie Bangura and Hon. Amadu Kanu of the All People’s Congress (APC) and Dr. Kandeh Kolleh Yumkella of National Grand Coalition (NGC).

Before the summit of the Fifth Parliament, the five Sierra Leone Members of Parliament were sworn-in as members of the Pan-African Parliament. The new delegation representing the Republic of Sierra Leone participated fully in the summit on the topic: ‘Winning the Fight against Corruption – A Sustainable Path to Africa’s Transformation’.

Each Sierra Leone MP was assigned to a standing committee including finance and public accounts, agriculture, youth empowerment, gender, and transport and energy.

As new member of the Transport and Energy Committee, Dr. Kandeh Yumkella helped to prepare the work plan for the sub-committee on energy.

The NGC MP also led another delegation to the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) in Vienna to deal with Nuclear Safeguards and bilateral support for nuclear medicine including diagnosis and radiotherapy for cancer treatment in Sierra Leone.

The delegation to the Atomic agency included Mr. Morie Momoh, Permanent Secretary Ministry of Energy; Lawyer Dandyson Thompson, Parliamentary Legal Counsel for the Ministry of Justice; Mr. John Jabati, Chief Radiation Officer Ministry of Energy; Ms. Agnes During, the Multilateral Division of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Mr. Dean Rogers, Clerk of Parliament.

The country paper on safeguards was presented by Mr. John Jabati, the closing plan of action by Ms. During and closing remarks by Dr. Yumkella.

They return home shortly.

Business News


- Never miss a story with notifications

- Gain full access to our premium content

- Browse free from up to 5 devices at once

Previous article
Next article

NPPA Releases First Quater 2023 Public Procurement Price Norm

The Board, Management and Staff of the National Public Procurement Authority (NPPA), with appropriation to the Government of Sierra Leone through the Ministry of...