27.7 C
Sierra Leone
Tuesday, February 7, 2023

National Olympic Committee Elects New President

HomeNewsHighlighted NewsNational Olympic Committee Elects New President

National Olympic Committee Elects New President


Related stories

This is a golden era for women, girls in Sierra Leone …President Bio tells school going pupils in Bo city

By Joseph S. Margai, Strategic Communication Coordinator President Julius Maada...

Tourism Minister, IOM Boss Discuss Opportunities for Sierra Leonean Returnees

Sierra Leone’s Minister of Tourism and Cultural Affairs, Dr....

NDMA Engages Communities on Fire Prevention

AYV News February 1, 2023 The National Disaster Management Agency...

AYV News

January 11, 2023

Robin Mitchel and Gunilla Lindberg, President and Secretary General of the Association of National Olympic Committees (ANOC), has congratulated Prince Vandy Sualley over his election as the President of the National Olympic Committee of Sierra Leone (NOC-SLE) at the Annual General Meeting and Elective Congress held in Freetown.

Robin Mitchel who is also the IOC Executive Board Member and his Secretary General, Gunilla Lindberg, an IOC Member in their congratulatory letter dated 10th January 2023, stated that the ANOC wish him the best for the coming years and look forward to close cooperation.

The letter reads: “Dear Mr. Sualley, we would like to extend our warmest congratulations on your election as President of your National Olympic Committee.

“We wish you all the best for the coming years and look forward to close cooperation in the promotion and development of the Olympic Movement.”

In the electoral General Assembly held at the Bintumani Hotel VIP Lounge, Sualley who is the President of the Sierra Leone Wrestling Association was elected as the new NOC-SLE boss after an overwhelming vote as he secured 23 of the 28 votes casted beating competition from President of Tennis Association Kelvin Ezekiel Kellie and Mohamed Turay-President of Sierra Leone Swimming, Diving and Water Polo Association.

The newly elected NOC-SLE executive includes; Vice President, Idriss Massaquoi, Unisa Deen Kargbo as Treasurer, Oness Johnson and Victor Amara as Ex-Officio.

Business News


- Never miss a story with notifications

- Gain full access to our premium content

- Browse free from up to 5 devices at once