17.9 C
Sierra Leone
Sunday, February 5, 2023

New MPs Take Oath of Office

HomeAYV NewsNew MPs Take Oath of Office

New MPs Take Oath of Office


Related stories

Retail Fuel Pump Prices Adjusted to NLe21.5

Following the recent upsurge in the global prices of...

This is a golden era for women, girls in Sierra Leone …President Bio tells school going pupils in Bo city

By Joseph S. Margai, Strategic Communication Coordinator President Julius Maada...

Sierra Leone Nursing, Midwifery Council Act Passed in Parliament

The Parliament of Sierra Leone has debated intensively and...


Announcing the new configuration of the House, the Hon. Speaker declared the ruling Sierra Leone People’s Party (SLPP) as the majority party now in parliament with 58 MPs; main opposition All People’s Congress (APC) 57; Coalition for Change (C4C) 08; National Grand Coalition (NGC) 04; Independent MPs 03; and 13 paramount Chief Members of Parliament (PCMP), due to the demise of Hon. P.C Kandeh Wusu Sesay III of Karene district.

Regarding the ruling of the High Court served to the Clerk of Parliament, Hon. Paran Umar Tarawally on Friday, 9 new Members of Parliament have taken and subscribed to the Oath of Office as provided for in the 1991 Constitution of Sierra Leone.

Hon. Rev. Horace E. Vincent, Hon. Allieu Ibrahim Kamara, Hon. Ahmed Joseph Kanu, Hon. Tennyson Hindolo Sandy, Hon. Abdul Sulaiman Marray-Conteh, Hon. John Telson Koroma, Hon. Benjamin Turay, Hon. Emmanuel S. Gbekie and Hon. Abdul M. Lansana were the new Members of Parliament that subscribed to the Oath of Office as detailed in the Third Schedule of the said Constitution past Friday.

After the administration of Oath by the Clerk of Parliament, he congratulated and handed copies of the 1991 Constitution of Sierra Leone and the Standing Orders of the House for procedural guidance during the course of proceedings in Parliament.

Following the Orders of the High Court served to the Clerk of Parliament in light of its verdict relating to petitions regarding the 2018 General Elections, Ten former MPs belonging to the APC have lost their seats in Parliament.

Hon. Momoh Kamara of Constituency 120, Hon. Kemokoh Conteh of Constituency 108, Hon. John Sartie Kargbo of Constituency 111, Hon. Ahmed Mansaray of Constituency 121, Hon. Hariyatu A. Bangura of Constituency 116, Hon. Abu Bakarr Sillah of Constituency 128, Hon. Sirajin Rollings Kamara of Constituency 127, Hon. Osman Abdal Timbo of Constituency 130, Hon. Mohamed Sheriff Carew of Constituency 122 and Hon. Khadijatu Davies-Constituency of Constituency 110 were the former MPs who lost their seats in Parliament past Friday.

In another development, the Parliament of Sierra Leone also on Friday debated and passed into law with some amendments the Bills entitled: “The Bank of Sierra Leone Act, 2019” and “The Banking Act, 2019”, with aim of improving and strengthening financial laws and regulations in the country.

The Bank of Sierra Leone Act 2019 is seeking to continue in existence the Bank of Sierra Leone to act as a banker, adviser and fiscal agent to support the general economic policy of the Government of Sierra Leone. It also provides for the maintenance of price stability, stable financial system, formulation and implementation of monetary policy and financial regulations with prudent standards.

The Banking Act of 2019 is providing for the licensing of persons carrying on banking business, the regulation and supervision of banking activities, financial holding companies and subsidiaries, and the protection of depositors.

Members of Parliament commended Government for bringing those Bills to Parliament with the view to inject confidence and to enhance effective fiscal and monetary policies in the management of the economy of Sierra Leone.

Business News


- Never miss a story with notifications

- Gain full access to our premium content

- Browse free from up to 5 devices at once