27.5 C
Sierra Leone
Monday, January 30, 2023

New Speaker Begs APC to Come Back

HomeAYV NewsNew Speaker Begs APC to Come Back

New Speaker Begs APC to Come Back


Related stories

“I am best placed to unite Sierra Leone” – Amb Omrie Golley

One of the intending presidential flagbearer aspirants of the...

Multi-Purpose Biometric ID Card to be Launched Today

The National Civil Registration Authority (NCRA) will today 30th...

2023 Elections: Sierra Leone Supreme Court rules elections to be conducted on PR system

The Sierra Leone Supreme Court has unanimously dismissed a...

ReNIP to Hold Lower-Level Elections This Weekend

The Republic National Independent Party (ReNIP), will tomorrow 28th...

Multi-Purpose Biometric Identity Cards Set to be Launched

His Excellency President Dr Julius Maada Bio will officially...

Pursuant to Standing Order 3 in the rules of the House’s procedures, Dr. Bundu has allocated seats in Parliament, whereby SLPP (the ruling party), C4C, and the PCMPs would occupy the Right, and the APC (the largest opposition party), NGC, and Independent MPs will occupy the Left.

The Committee of Selection, chaired by the Speaker has been announced and ratified by Parliament, including the Speaker, Leader of Government Business (SLPP) Hon. Mohamed Sidi Tunis, Leader of the Opposition (APC), Hon. Sahr Emmerson Lamina (C4C), Hon. Alhaji Dr. Kandeh Kolleh Yumkella (NGC), Hon. PC Alie B. Marrah III, Hon. Quintin Salia Konneh (Independent), Hon. Veronica K. Sesay (SLPP), and the Clerk of Parliament, Hon. Umar Paran Tarawally is the Secretary.

The Committee of Selection appoints MPs into various Committees in the House, subject to approval, and also supervises the conduct of those Committees in the discharge of their duties.

The Hon. Speaker has also recognized the Leadership of Parliament in the persons of Hon. Mohamed Sidi Tunis (Leader of Government Business), Hon. Mathew Nyuma (Deputy Leader of Government Business), Hon. Dickson Rogers (Chief Whip), Hon. Alusine Kanneh (Deputy Chief Whip), Hon. Sahr Emmerson Lamina (Leader of C4C), Hon. Dr. Alhaji Kandeh Kolleh Yumkella (Leader of NGC) amongst others.

Clerk of Parliament, Hon. Paran Tarawally also reiterated calls to “MPs designate to take the oath of office as he has started taking attendance for MPs”.

At the first sitting of the Fifth Parliament of the Second Republic of Sierra Leone on 25th April 2018, under a Presidential Proclamation by Retired Brigadier, Julius Maada Bio, President of the Republic of Sierra Leone, both Hon. Dr. Abass Chernor Bundu, and Hon. Sengepoh Solomon Thomas were duly elected respectively as Speaker and Deputy Speaker of the Parliament of Sierra Leone, in the absence of APC, the main opposition Party.

The National Grand Coalition, headed by Alhaji Dr. Kandeh Kolleh Yumkella abstained from voting on the grounds of “constitutional breaches and the treatment meted out to APC MPs designate”.

Business News


- Never miss a story with notifications

- Gain full access to our premium content

- Browse free from up to 5 devices at once

“I am best placed to unite Sierra Leone” – Amb Omrie Golley

One of the intending presidential flagbearer aspirants of the All People’s Congress (APC) Party, Ambassador Omrie Golly has said he is the best presidential...