38.7 C
Sierra Leone
Sunday, February 25, 2024

Yumkella Appointed Parliamentary Leader

HomeAYV NewsYumkella Appointed Parliamentary Leader

Yumkella Appointed Parliamentary Leader


Related stories

Advocacy Policy released to combat Gender Disparities in Education

In an attempt to expedite the recruitment of female...

Tourism Minister launches ‘Go Circular Week’

Sierra Leone's Minister of Tourism and Cultural Affairs, Mrs....

ACC engages 34 Military Hospital on corruption risks

"It is important to identify corruption risks and issues...

SALWACO engages key stakeholders in Port Loko

A cross section of the SALWACO Management in Port...

President Bio hosts ECOWAS Investment Bank Chief

His Excellency President Dr. Julius Maada Bio has received...

The five-month old NGC party captured fourteen out of the eighteen local government seats in the Kambia District Council and four out of six constituency seats. The elected Members of Parliament for Constituencies 060 and 061 displaced the All Peoples Congress (APC) from retaining these seats which they have held for over 50 years.

In a separate meeting with party executives at the secretariat, Dr. Dennis Bright, NGC Chairman welcomed them to their new home and congratulated them on their win. He further noted that, as new Members of Parliament representing the party they “will not be judged or assessed by their numbers rather by the quality of their representation.” He assured them that they will have the whole army of NGC supporters and professionals, at home and abroad, to support them in their work in parliament.

“Despite all the threats from other parties, we always knew that we had what it takes to win,” said Foday Mario Kamara. Abdul Titus Kamara added: “We are ready to get to work for our people and are grateful that they elected us. For his part, Bai Sama Kamara noted that “our people did not fail us and we will not fail them either.

MP-elect Dr. Kandeh Kolleh Yumkella underscored the importance of putting the peoples’ business first. “We have been given a great responsibility and we intend to work each day to ensure we bring development to our communities,” he said. In addition “we are determined to be a constructive opposition to support good public policies, but oppose any policy that is inimical to the interest of the people of Sierra Leone”, he added.

As part of their activities, the elected representatives also had the opportunity of meeting with current and former parliamentarians who guided them on what to expect, shared their experiences as lawmakers and their functions as public servants.

As part of their consultations also, the elected MPs appointed Foday Mario Kamara as Deputy Leader, Abdul Titus Kamara as Whip and Bai Sama Kamara as Deputy Whip.

Latest stories


- Never miss a story with notifications

- Gain full access to our premium content

- Browse free from up to 5 devices at once

Previous article
Next article