36.5 C
Sierra Leone
Monday, February 6, 2023

Zainab Bangura Leads Commonwealth Elections Mission

HomeAYV NewsZainab Bangura Leads Commonwealth Elections Mission

Zainab Bangura Leads Commonwealth Elections Mission


Related stories

Retail Fuel Pump Prices Adjusted to NLe21.5

Following the recent upsurge in the global prices of...

This is a golden era for women, girls in Sierra Leone …President Bio tells school going pupils in Bo city

By Joseph S. Margai, Strategic Communication Coordinator President Julius Maada...

Sierra Leone Nursing, Midwifery Council Act Passed in Parliament

The Parliament of Sierra Leone has debated intensively and...


The COG arrived in the country on 27 November following an invitation from Dominica Prime Minister Hon Roosevelt Skerrit to observe general elections scheduled for Friday 6 December.

COG members will meet with stakeholders, including election management officials, representatives of political parties, civil society groups and others, and will deploy to observe the election environment, including related court proceedings and polling day preparations.

Group chairperson Zainab Bangura is the former Sierra Leone Minister of Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation and former Under-Secretary-General at the United Nations.

In an arrival statement she said: “Our presence in Dominica affirms the support of the Commonwealth to Dominica and its democratic processes.

“The group’s assessment will be its own and not that of any other individual, institution or country.”

Election observation is a core Commonwealth role undertaken with impartiality, independence and transparency.

This role is in accordance with the Declaration of Principles for International Election Observation and the Revised Commonwealth Guidelines for the Observation of Elections in Member Countries which was agreed by Commonwealth Heads of Governments in 2018.

COGs are made up of people from various regions of the Commonwealth bringing a wealth of experience with regards to political, social and legal issues.

The COG is made up of the following members: Ms Zainab Bangura (Chairperson), former Minister of Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation of the Republic of Sierra Leone and former Under-Secretary-General at the United Nations, Mr Assad Shoman, Former Minister of Foreign Affairs, Belize. ustice James Ogoola, Former Principal Judge of the High Court of Uganda, a Justice of COMESA and a Member of Uganda’s Elders Council, Uganda

Ms Angela Taylor, Chief Elections Officer, Barbados, Mr Peter Wardle, Former Chief Executive of the UK Electoral Commission, United Kingdom, Ms Wyvolyn Gager, Former Editor-in-Chief of The Jamaica Gleaner Company, Jamaica, Ms Regina Opondo, Attorney-at-law and Executive Secretary, Constitution and Reform Education Consortium, Kenya

Major Stanley Ford, Formerly of the Jamaica Defence Force, Jamaica, Ms Lebrechtta Oye Hesse Bayne, Gender Specialist, Antigua and Barbuda, Mr Kishva Ambigapathy, Former Chair of the Commonwealth Youth Council, Malaysia.

On election day, the group will observe opening, voting, closing, counting and the results management process until its departure on 13 December. It will issue an Interim Statement of its preliminary findings shortly after 6 December. Source: thecommonwealth.org

Business News


- Never miss a story with notifications

- Gain full access to our premium content

- Browse free from up to 5 devices at once