23 C
Sierra Leone
Sunday, March 3, 2024

As Convention Ends… SLPP Elects 31 National Executive Officers

HomeAYV NewsAs Convention Ends... SLPP Elects 31 National Executive Officers

As Convention Ends… SLPP Elects 31 National Executive Officers


Related stories

‘Tourism for All Campaign’ reaches Kabala

A delegation from the Ministry of Tourism and Cultural...

ACC engages Congo Cross Police Division

The Anti-Corruption Commission (ACC) has, as part of its...

AVDP begins project of making IVS all-year farmland

The Agricultural Value Chain Development Project office in Bo...

President Bio inaugurates first-ever Sierra Leone Investment Forum in China

His Excellency President Dr Julius Maada Bio has inaugurated...

The conference, which was scheduled to start officially in the morning of Friday, took off to a late start in the afternoon as delegates were handed their accreditations before being permitted into the hall.

There were also scenes of controversies at the convention, as it only started after the late arrival of one of the flag-bearers aspirants of the party, in the person of Julius Maada Bio who was hours late after the accreditation of all the delegates.

The outgone National Chairman of the party, Bai Shebora Somanoh Kapen, who had earlier declared his interest to contest for the second time, reportedly considered the act as disrespectful and as a result, staged a walked-out from the conference hall with Dr John O. Benjamin, another flag-bearer aspirant, and never returned.

Report also states that despite earlier warning by the Sierra Leone Police based on the decision of the general membership of the SLPP that flag-bearer aspirants will not be allowed to enter the conference hall with security personnel, Maada Bio entered the hall with his full entourage.

The conference is the highest decision-making body of the SLPP, but this year’s was limited to the election of National Officers only, owing to the Supreme Court ruling which declared the current executive ineligible to conduct the flag-bearer elections. The tenure of the Sumana Kapen-led Executive reportedly expired in August 2015.

The Political Parties Registration Commission (PPRC) oversaw the conduct of the convention, pursuant to Sections 6(2) of the Political Parties Act of 2002.

The APC Deputy National Leader and Chairman, Minkailu Mansaray and National Secretary General, Osman Foday Yansanneh witnessed the convention.

The newly constituted national executive has been charged with the responsibility to initiate the process that will lead to the peaceful conduct of the flag-bearer elections early next month at a separate National Delegates Conference.

The ambiance of the convention with 647 delegates, was felt throughout Kenema city and in various parts of the country where it was screened live by AYV TV.

Meanwhile, the National Delegate Conference of the Revolutionary United Front Party (RUFP) is scheduled to begin today, 18 September in Bo and end on Wednesday, 20 September.

1.    Emergency Cholera Vaccination Campaign targets 500,000 People

2.    Democracy Salone, Partners call on NEC Boss to Resign

Latest stories


- Never miss a story with notifications

- Gain full access to our premium content

- Browse free from up to 5 devices at once