21.6 C
Sierra Leone
Monday, June 24, 2024

Mayors, Chairpersons, Councillors end political tenure today

HomeNewsMayors, Chairpersons, Councillors end political tenure today

Mayors, Chairpersons, Councillors end political tenure today


Related stories

ECOWAS, AU, UNOWAS Mission arrives in Sierra Leone

A prominent collaborative Mission involving the ECOWAS, African Union...

Today is ‘Tripartite Report Day’ in Sierra Leone

In Sierra Leone today, June 19, 2024, the Tripartite...

Peace Commission proffers solutions to improve future elections

AYV News, June 7, 2024 Executive Secretary of the Independent...

Parliament inspects EU/Local Government Project

The Parliamentary Oversight Committee on Local Government and Community...

All Mayors, District Council Chairpersons and Local Councillors across Sierra Leone are to end their political mandates today March 1, 2023, as directed by Section 137 of the Local Government Act 2022, (Act No.26 of 2022).

The mayors, district council chairpersons and local councillors are instructed to do a comprehensive handing over of their office to the Chief Administrators of their respective councils.

Minister of Local Government and Community Affairs, Amb. Tamba J.S. Lamina said: “Let me congratulate you at the end of your tenure and convey the ministry’s appreciation to all of you for serving your people and contributing to national development in your various ways. Together, we have been able to work collaboratively to enhance governance and service delivery. I must also inform you that His Excellency, the President has during his ‘Meet the People Tour recognised and appreciated the significant role of Local Councils in the governance architecture at the sub-national level”.

He wished the mayors and district chairpersons on their second term bid and hoped that they will continue to serve their country in other capacities moving forward.

The Chief Administrators have been directed accordingly to take full inventory of the council’s assets

and finances, whiles the Directorate of Decentralisation in ministry of local government and the Fiscal Decentralisation Directorate in the ministry of finance will continue to provide comprehensive monitoring of Council activities.

They will further be providing technical and professional support until such a time when the fourth council is ushered in.

All mayors, district council chairpersons and local councillors were elected into in 2018.

Latest stories


- Never miss a story with notifications

- Gain full access to our premium content

- Browse free from up to 5 devices at once