23.8 C
Sierra Leone
Tuesday, January 31, 2023

Parliament Approves New Bank Governor

HomeAYV NewsParliament Approves New Bank Governor

Parliament Approves New Bank Governor


Related stories

Western Area School Feeding Targets 57,530 Pupils

The Ministry of Basic and Senior Secondary Education in...

Ministry of Tourism Hosts Capacity Building Training, Certifies 50 Participants

The Ministry of Tourism and Cultural Affairs (MTCA), and...

Police Boss Admonishes Recruits on integrity, professionalism

The Inspector General of Police (IGP) William Fayia Sellu...


AYV MEDIA EMPIRE LIVE- Yung Sal in the studio


Professor Kelfala Kallon, new Bank Governor 

The Parliament of Sierra Leone on Tuesday 2nd October 2018, approved President Bio’s appointee Professor Kelfala Kallon as the country’s new central bank governor.

His approval was made by MPs after debating – with some dissenting voices, the Twelfth Report of the Committee on Appointments and the Public Service, which is chaired by the Leader of Government Business – Hon. Sidie M. Tunis.

Twelve other presidential appointees were also approved by parliamentarian as follows:

Mr. Smart K. Senesie-Chairman, Sierra Leone Road Maintenance Fund Board Administration

Ms. Michaela Kadijatu Conteh-Chairman, Board of Directors, National Minerals Agency Board

Mr. Brima Mohamed Baluwa Koroma-Executive Chairman, Petroleum Regulatory Agency

Dr. James Vibbi-Executive Chairman, Produce Monitoring Board, Ministry of Trade and Industry

Mr. Joseph Samba Kelfala-Chairman, Board of Directors, Sierra Leone Roads Authority Board

Abdul Sheku Kargbo-Executive Director, National Drug Law Enforcement Agency

Mr. Sahr Nyama-Chairman, Board of Directors, National Youth Service Board

Mr. Arthur N. Yaskey-Commissioner, Sierra Leone Insurance Commission

Sheik Mustapha Bawoh-Chairman, Board of Directors, Sierra Leone Road Safety Authority Board

Ms. Anna Betty Moussa-Deputy High Commissioner, Federal Republic of Nigeria

Col. Rtd. Saa Anthony Sinah-Deputy Commissioner, Sierra Leone Commission on Small Arms and

Rtd, Brig. Gen. Tamba R. Allieu-Commissioner, Sierra Leone National Commission of Small Arms

Congratulating the nominees after their approval, the Speaker of Parliament – Hon. Dr. Abass Bundu said the nominees are qualified for the positions they had been nominated by the President.

He called on them not to disappoint the President or Parliament, given the onerous responsibilities of their new assignments.

Seconding the motion approving the presidential appointees, Deputy Leader of Government Business – Hon. Sahr Mathew Nyuma described them as qualified.

He called on them to discharge their duties effectively, so as to positively affect the lives of ordinary Sierra Leoneans under the government’s New Direction agenda.

However, Hon. Abdul Kargbo of APC disassociated himself from the approval of the Bank Governor. He said that his nomination is in violation of certain provisions in the Bank of Sierra Leone Act of 2011, which makes provision for the tenure of office of the Bank Governor whose appointment could not be overturned save by anyone, except a resolution passed by Parliament.

Business News


- Never miss a story with notifications

- Gain full access to our premium content

- Browse free from up to 5 devices at once

Western Area School Feeding Targets 57,530 Pupils

The Ministry of Basic and Senior Secondary Education in partnership with Plan International (MBSSE) has officially launched the School Feeding Programme in the Western...