22.2 C
Sierra Leone
Sunday, May 19, 2024

The race for APC runningmate gets to the finish line …Party to address journalists at its Freetown headquarters

HomeNewsPoliticsThe race for APC runningmate gets to the finish line …Party...

The race for APC runningmate gets to the finish line …Party to address journalists at its Freetown headquarters


Related stories

New Speaker vows to work for the people, not party!!

Newly elected Speaker of the Sierra Leone Parliament, Rt....

Ambassador Fadlu-Deen presents Credentials to Qatar’s Amir

Cyril Barnes, Information Attache Sierra Leone’s Ambassador-Designate to the State...

Ambassador David Hunt visit SLPP Bombali office in Makeni

AYV News, March 14, 2024 The United State Ambassador to...

Amb. Müller, Hon. Yumkella discuss mutual interest in work portfolios

Chairman Kandeh Yumkella of the Presidential Initiative on Climate...

Works minister to lead High-Level delegation to Namibia

AYV News, January 17, 2024 Sierra Leone’s Minister of Works...

The All People’s Congress (APC) Party will at 1pm today address journalists at the Party’s Headquarters in Freetown, after its National Delegates’ Conference in Makeni.


Among key expectations from today’s press conference, is that Party will provide updates on the selection of the runningmate for the June 2023 Presidential elections to journalists at the press conference.


Other issues lined up for today’s press conference will include a review on the merits and demerits of the Makeni delegates’ conference and also issues that arose before, during and after the conference.


The Makeni Conference elected Dr. Samura Mathew Wilson Kamara as Presidential Candidate for the 2023 Presidential Election but yet to select its runningmate.


Dr. Samura Kamara got 1,382 votes, winning the race, followed by Dr. Richard Conteh who got 88 votes and Dr. Kaifala Marah got 58 votes, Omrie M. Golly got 21 votes, Alimamy P. Koroma got 12 votes, Alfred Paolo Conteh got 12, Kemoh Sesay got 10 votes, Dr. Ansumana Usman Koroma got 10 votes, Susan Bona got 6 votes, Momoh Vandi got 6 votes, Alhaji Osman Bangura got 5 votes, votes, Abu Bakar Kalokoh got 6 votes, Mohamed M. Sesay got 3 votes, Ibrahim Mohamed Turay got 3 votes, Adliki Kamara got 1 vote and Bassi Kamara got 0 vote.


The National Chairman position was won by Minkailu Mansaray, Deputy Chairman position won by Dr. Osman Foday Yansaneh, National Secretary General position won by Lawyer Lansana Dumbuya.


Dr. Samura Kamara’s Leadership/flagbearership, as well as that of the other national and pertinent elected officers, have to be validated first by a 30 days publication in the Government Gazette by the Political Parties Regulation Commission (PPRC). This should be done by PPRC within 14 days.


If there are no objections to the list of names, then Dr. Samura Kamara is the elected Leader of the APC. If there are objections then the PPRC will sit on the objections and then give a Ruling.


If the PPRC ruling confirms that the objection is valid then Dr. Samura Kamara cannot be the presidential candidate.


If the PPRC finds that the objection lacks merit the PPRC will throw out the Objection with the concomitant effect that then and only then, can Dr. Samura Kamara be the bonafide Presidential Candidate of the APC.

Latest stories


- Never miss a story with notifications

- Gain full access to our premium content

- Browse free from up to 5 devices at once