20.9 C
Sierra Leone
Monday, February 6, 2023

West Africa’s Biggest Media Event this October

HomeAYV NewsWest Africa's Biggest Media Event this October

West Africa’s Biggest Media Event this October


Related stories

Retail Fuel Pump Prices Adjusted to NLe21.5

Following the recent upsurge in the global prices of...

This is a golden era for women, girls in Sierra Leone …President Bio tells school going pupils in Bo city

By Joseph S. Margai, Strategic Communication Coordinator President Julius Maada...

Sierra Leone Nursing, Midwifery Council Act Passed in Parliament

The Parliament of Sierra Leone has debated intensively and...

The conference will be followed by the maiden edition of the West Africa Media Excellence Awards. The awards will be honouring journalists from across West Africa whose works have contributed to bringing positive changes to society in the course of the last one year. The awards are intended to inspire and motivate journalism excellence in the West Africa region.

Registration for participants and submission of entries for the awards are already underway.

Journalists in West Africa who have produced compelling work(s) that has had significant impact on society have been invited to submit their work(s) for consideration for the first ever West Africa Media Excellence Awards.

This is an initiative to reward and inspire media excellence in West Africa.

The Awards are opened to journalists from print, electronic and online media in Anglophone, Francophone and Lusophone countries in West Africa. Applicants must be West African, working with and for media organisation(s) based in West Africa.

An Entry for the Awards must have been published or broadcast between the period, January 1 to December 31, 2016.

Deadline for submission of entries is September 17, 2017. Judging period spans between October 2 and 4.

Announcement of nominees/finalists is scheduled for October 10, 2017.

Applicants should upload published works via the entry form on the website: www.mfwa.org/wameca . The entry should be an original work published through a media outlet in West Africa and must show date of publication/broadcast and the medium in which the work was published.

The categories open for entries are:

  • Investigative Reporting
  • SDG’s Reporting
  • Business Reporting
  • ICT Reporting
  • Human Rights Reporting
  • Photojournalism
  • ECOWAS and Regional integration
  • Sports Reporting
  • Health reporting
  • Anti-corruption Reporting
  • Environmental Reporting
  • Women’s Rights Reporting
  • Children’s Rights Reporting
  • Oil and Gas Reporting

From the entries submitted, the judges will also select the overall best report for the prestigious West African Journalist of the Year Award.

Applicants may submit entries to a maximum of two categories and for each category a maximum of two entries.

Finalists will be hosted at the Awards event on the 28th of October, 2017 and also participate in the West Africa Media Excellence Conference on the 27th of October, 2017 which will feature sessions on topical journalism issues and also provide opportunities for networking with other journalists, editors, and experts from West Africa

Business News


- Never miss a story with notifications

- Gain full access to our premium content

- Browse free from up to 5 devices at once