28.6 C
Sierra Leone
Wednesday, February 1, 2023

APC MPs Take Oath of Office

HomeAYV NewsAPC MPs Take Oath of Office

APC MPs Take Oath of Office


Related stories

NDMA Engages Communities on Fire Prevention

AYV News February 1, 2023 The National Disaster Management Agency...

CTC Mining pays Le1.9B surface rent to Marampa, Mafokie chiefdoms

Guest Writer February 1, 2023 The Commodity Trading Company (CTC)...

Lands Ministry, TAF Global to Build 5,000 Homes in Sierra Leone

AYV News February 1, 2023 Sierra Leone’s Ministry of Lands, Housing...

Those who have subscribed to the oath include Hon. Chernor R. M.Bah, erstwhile Deputy Speaker and running mate to Dr. Samura Kamara, Hon. Daniel Koroma, Hon. Lahai Marrah, Hon. Mohamed Bangura, Hon. Ibrahim Ben Kargbo, Hon. Hassan Sesay, Hon. Aaron A. Koroma, Hon. Kemokoh Conteh and Hon. Osman A. Timbo among others, as they are now properly seated in Parliament to discharge their duties.

Hon. Billon Shaw is the last among the 49 SLPP MPs to take Oath of Office, from Falaba District.

The injunctions against the 16 MPs, including 15 APC and 1 SLPP have been vacated in the High Court of Sierra Leone.

Presiding Speaker, Hon. Sengepoh Solomon Thomas, who doubles as the Deputy Speaker of the Parliament of Sierra Leone, in congratulating the APC MPs after they had taken and signed the oath, he praised Hon. Chernor Bah and Hon. Ibrahim Ben Kargbo among others for the roles they played in settling the political impasse in Parliament, whilst reminding the House of its cardinal functions regarding representation, legislation, and oversight.

In a separate development, the Speaker of the House, Hon. Dr. Abass Chernor Bundu in welcoming Members of the ECOWAS delegation boasted that “Parliament is now fully constituted”, in respect of its composition, whilst recognizing the leadership roles of all the parties. He referred to the said delegation as being brilliant, persistent, and courageous for resolving the political impasse in Parliament, whilst extending compliments on behalf of the Government and the People of Sierra Leone to Dr. Chambas and the President of the ECOWAS Parliament for their timely intervention.

Reacting, Leader of the ECOWAS delegation and former Speaker of the Parliament of Liberia, Hon. Edwin Snowe also extended compliments to the Government and the People of Sierra Leone, including President Julius Maada Bio, former President Ernest Bai Koroma, and the Leadership of C4C and NGC, whilst expressing happiness “for the full composition of the Parliament of Sierra Leone”.

Business News


- Never miss a story with notifications

- Gain full access to our premium content

- Browse free from up to 5 devices at once